Plazma Burst Overhaul?

Give us your feedback about the Level Editor! Or have an idea? Post it here!

Plazma Burst Overhaul?

Postby meeksource » 16 September 2019, 04:50

As a game dev myself, I'd like to suggest some changes to the game in general, not the trigger actions. While these are mostly in question format, they are a call to change of the level editor

1).
Why is every Variable trigger action operation separate?
For example, if you wanted to do the simple equation (2 * x + 9) / y, in the editor you'd have to do:

Multiply value of variable 'A' by value 'B'
A: x
B: 2

Add value 'B' to value of variable 'A'
B: 9

Divide variable 'A' by value 'B'
B: y

This is extremely time consuming for anyone making maps in PB2, and might scare away new coming map makers from using the level editor. I can't tell you how many hours I've poured into this admittedly frustrating system that, half the time, doesn't even work.

2).
Why are trigger actions divided into 'A' and 'B'
Clearly, only having two inputs is very limiting as to what you can get as an output. For example:

Set value of variable 'A' to result of atan2 function with values of variables 'A' and 'B' as parameters

I assume if you had a 'C' input, you could have a place to store the output that won't overwrite the value of 'A', but why limit yourself to inputs? Just have map makers be able to edit the actual code of the game:

c = atan2(a, b)

This isn't the only problem with this system. Having it like this limits map makers to only the trigger actions already in the game. If you really just absolutely HAVE to have this system, why not just have it so inputs are interchangeable? For example:

Set Character 'A' scale to value 'B'
and
Set Character 'A' scale to value of variable 'B'